Madu Ganga Sanctuary

The Madu Ganga sanctuary is part of the world heritage, protected by the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands since 2003, and it is one of the last wetlands to feature a natural mangrove forest with an exceptional biodiversity.

This lagoon – a partially saltwater lake according to the tides – is dotted with about thirty islands. Some of them are tiny, like the Island of Meditation (which shelters a hermitage on a few square meters) and sometimes inhabited by thousands of invisible residents (since their houses are hidden behind the mangrove trees).

 

The Madu Ganga is a paradise of fauna and flora with 30 % of the entire Sri Lankan fauna and even 45 % of the island’s avifauna. There are 110 species of birds, for example, 12 of batrachians, 24 of mammals, 70 of fish, 30 of reptiles, 50 of butterflies, as well as 300 species of plants.

The Mirala Duwa Island has been deforested and exploited during the colonization era, thanks to coconut tree and cinnamon plantations. Chanaka’s grandfather used to look after them. After independence, the island has progressively returned to its wild state, reverting to an inextricable jungle. Since 2007 Chanaka has undertaken to revive the island by clearing a part of its surface for the purpose of farming. Another part of it is left in its natural state to allow for the observation of the numerous bird species that are either resident or migratory.

Nowadays, the island is an important developing orchard, providing dozens of different kinds of fruit trees and plants that are common to wetlands. There is also a big kitchen garden to promote the diversity of Sri Lanka vegetables. All these fruits and vegetables will be sold at the Balapitiya market, respecting the environmentally-friendly principle of local production and consumption.

 

Notre Album

Sanctuaire de Madu Ganga

Appartenant au patrimoine de l’humanité, protégé par la convention Ramsar des zones humides depuis 2003 , le sanctuaire de Madu Ganga est une des dernières zones humides renfermant une forêt primaire de mangroves. Elle présente une biodiversité exceptionnelle.

C’est une lagune – un lac partiellement salé en fonction des marées – semée d’une trentaine d’îles.

Elles sont parfois minuscules, comme  l’île de la méditation (qui abrite un hermitage sur quelques mètres carrés) et parfois peuplées de plusieurs milliers d’habitants invisibles (car leurs maisons sont cachées derrière les mangroves).

C’est un paradis pour la faune et la flore. On compte sur Madu Ganga 30% de la faune du Sri Lanka et même 45% de l’avifaune. Il y a par exemple 110 espèces d’oiseaux, 12 de batraciens, 24 de mammifères, 70 de poissons, 30 de reptiles, 50 de papillons,  ainsi  que 300 espèces de plantes.

L’île de Mirala Duwa a été défrichée et exploitée au temps des colonies, grâce à des plantations de cocotiers et de cannelle. C’est le grand-père de Chanaka qui les entretenait. Après l’indépendance, elle est progressivement retournée à l’état sauvage, redevenant une jungle inextricable. Depuis 2007, Chanaka a entrepris de lui redonner vie en défrichant à nouveau une partie de sa surface pour reprendre une exploitation agricole. Une autre portion de l’île est laissée en l’état pour permettre l’observation des nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux résidents ou migrateurs.

A présent, c’est un immense verger en constitution, abritant des dizaines de sortes d’arbres fruitiers et de plantes familières des zones humides. Il y a aussi un grand potager, qui permet de faire connaître la diversité des légumes sri lankais. Ces fruits et ces légumes seront vendus au marché de Balapitiya, respectant ainsi le principe écologique de produire et consommer sur place.

Notre Album